Fri. Jan 24th, 2020

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Pakistan Vs West Indies | Match Result

pakistan vs west indies world cup

West Indies got the perfect start to open their ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at the Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

West Indies beat Pakistan by 7 wickets in the 2nd match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

West Indies captain Jason Holder took 3-42, Oshane Thomas took 4-27, and Andre Russell a brilliant 2-4 in 3 overs as only 2 Pakistan batsmen passed 20.

Chris Gayle smashed 50 runs from 34 balls with 3- sixes to give West Indies’ chase a quick start and, despite 3 wickets for Mohammad Amir, the win was sealed with 36.1 overs remaining when Nicholas Pooran smashed a huge 6.

The bowling performance of the West Indies only strengthens the view that the Windies could be serious contenders to win their first ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 since 1979, while it is a miserable start for Pakistan who won the Champions Trophy in England just 2 years ago.

Man of the Match

Oshane Thomas, who picked up a 4 wicket haul was the man of the match.  He started his show with the ball by sending back in-form Babar Azam with 22 runs. Oshane then picked Mohammad Hafeez with 16, Shadab Khan  with1, and Wahab Riaz with 18. to finish with figures of 4 for 27.



West Indies

BatsmanDismissalRunsBallsFoursSixesFall of Wicket
Chris Gayleb Amir c Shadab50346336/1 Hope
Shai Hopeb Amir c Hafeez11171046/2 Bravo
Darren Bravob Amir c Babar030077/3 Gayle
Nicholas Poorannot out341942
Shimron Hetmyernot out7600
Mohammad Amir60263
Hassan Ali40390
Wahab Riaz3.41400


BatsmanDismissalRunsBallsFoursSixesFall of Wicket
Imam-ul-Haqb Cottrell c Hope2110017/1 Imam
Fakhar Zamanb Russell22162135/2 Fakhar
Babar Azamb Thomas c Hope22332045/3 Sohail
Haris Sohailb Russell c Hope8101062/4 Babar
Sarfaraz Ahmedb Holder c Hope8120075/5 Sarfaraz
Mohammad Hafeezb Thomas c Cottrell16242077/6 Imad
Imad Wasimb Holder c Gayle130078/7 Shadab
Shadab Khanlbw b Thomas010081/8 Hasan
Hasan Alib Holder c Cottrell140083/9 Hafeez
Wahab Riazb Thomas181112105/10 Riaz
Mohammad Amirnot out3600
Sheldon Cottrell40181
Jason Holder50423
Andre Russell3142
Carlos Brathwaite40140
Oshane Thomas5.40274



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *