Modi government Cabinet: Amit Shah Gets Home Ministry And Other Cabinet Portfolios

home minister amit shah

Narendra Modi government allocated portfolio to his new ministers, Today.

BJP president Amit Shah will be the new Home Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman former Defence minister will be the Finance minister. While the Former Home Minister Rajnath Singh will be the new Defence minister.

Former Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar will be the minister of External Affairs. Prakash Javadekar, new Information and Broadcasting Minister, Ram Vilas Paswan, minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.

Nearly, 35 of the previous council of ministers have been replaced with the 19 new first time ministers.

Here is the list of all the new Union council of ministers and their portfolios

  1. Narendra Modi – Prime Minister, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Space and Department of Atomic Energy
  2. Rajnath Singh – Defence Minister
  3. Amit Shah – Minister of Home Affairs.
  4. Nitin Gadkari – Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises.
  5. DV Sadananda Gowda – Chemicals and Fertilizers Minister
  6. Nirmala Sitharaman – Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs.
  7. Ramvilas Paswan – Minister of Food and Public Distribution and Consumer Affairs.
  8. Narendra Singh Tomar – Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Minister of Rural Development; and Minister of Panchayati Raj.
  9. Ravi Shankar Prasad Minister of Law and Justice; Minister of Communications; and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology.
  10. Harsimrat Kaur Badal – Minister of Food Processing Industries.
  11. Thaawar Chand Gehlot – Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment.
  12. Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar – Minister of External Affairs.
  13. Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ – Minister of Human Resource Development.
  14. Arjun Munda – Minister of Tribal Affairs.
  15. Smriti Irani – Minister of Women and Child Development; and Minister of Textiles.
  16. Dr. Harsh Vardhan – Minister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Science and Technology; and Minister of Earth Sciences.
  17. Prakash Javadekar – Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change; and Minister of Information and Broadcasting.
  18. Piyush Goyal – Minister of Railways; and Minister of Commerce and Industry.
  19. Dharmendra Pradhan – Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Steel.
  20. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi – Minister of Minority Affairs.
  21. Pralhad Joshi – Minister of  Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines.
  22. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey – Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.
  23. Arvind Ganpat Sawant – Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprise
    24. Giriraj Singh – Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries
    25. Gajendra Singh Shekhawat – Minister of Jal Shakti


Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

  1. Santosh Kumar Gangwar – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Labour and Employment


  1. Rao Inderjit Singh – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation; and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Planning.


  1. Shripad Naik – Minister of State Independent Charge of the Ministry of Ayurveda, Naturopathy, Unani, Yoga and, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH); and Minister of State in Defence Ministry.


  1. Dr. Jitendra Singh – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region; Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office.
  2. Kiren Rijiju – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports; and Minister of State in the Ministry of Minority Affairs


  1. Prahalad Singh Patel – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Culture; and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Tourism.


  1. Raj Kumar Singh – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Power; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.


  1. Hardeep Singh Puri – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Civil Aviation; and Minister of State in Commerce Industry Ministry.


  1. Mansukh L. Mandaviya – Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Shipping; and Minister of State in Chemicals and Fertilizers.

The new Modi has the maximum number of 10 ministers from Uttar Pradesh, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi  and by seven from Maharashtra and six from Bihar.

The new government has 3 ministers each from, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Karnataka, and Haryana,  and two each from West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha. These are the states where voters gave a clean sweep to Bhartiya Janta Party.

The first meeting of the new Union Cabinet will take place Today, later in the evening.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here