Why was 15th August chosen as Independence Day?

Independence Day

We celebrate our Independence Day on 15th August with pride and patriotism. The Parliament of United Kingdom passed the Indian Independence Act in 1947. They transferred the Legislative power to the Indian constitution of the Assembly. During this period, however, George king VI was retained as the head of the state.
This year we will celebrate our 70th Independence Day and will pay a heartfelt tribute to all the freedom fighters who have sacrificed their lives for our nation. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address the nation and will motivate them to fight against corruption, poverty, and terrorism. One of his other motives is to make India a cleaner country by the year 2022.

Happy Independence Day
Happy Independence Day

During our Independence, our nation parted in two ways, India and Pakistan. This partition didn’t go well with the public as mass riots and casualties were followed. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru became the 1st Prime Minister of our country on August 15th, 1947. He hoisted the national flag of our country in Red Fort, Delhi. After this act, it became a custom and now every year the Prime Minister of our country hosts the national flag on August 15th, 1947 in Red Fort, Delhi and address the entire nation.

Indendence Day
Independence Day

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the president of Congress in the year 1929. In the same year, he gave the call for ‘Poorna Swaraj’ which meant complete independence of our country from the British rule. January 26th was chosen as the Independence Day and from the 1930s onwards, we started to celebrate 26th January as our Independence Day. Later in 1950, 26th January was celebrated as the republic day as India became free from the British rule and became sovereign.


The parliament of British instructed Lord Mountbatten to transfer the powers of governing in the hands of the leaders of India by January 20th, 1948. According to Indian Politician and Independence activist, C Rajagopalachari, if Lord Mountbatten had waited till June, there would have been no power to transfer to the leaders of our country. This is why he transferred the powers in the hands of our leaders in August 1947.

Based on the inputs provided by Lord Mountbatten, the British government presented the bill of Indian Independence on July 4th, 1947. It got approved with a fortnight. This was their last straw and finally, the British rule was ended and on the date August 15th, 1947, we got our independence. Our independence was achieved by establishing two dominions, India and Pakistan. Mountbatten later said that “the date I chose came out of the blue. I chose it in reply to a question. I was determined to show I was master of the whole event. When they asked had we set a date, I knew it had to be soon. I hadn’t worked it out exactly then — I thought it had to be about August or September and I then went out to the 15th August. Why? Because it was the second anniversary of Japan’s surrender.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here