Important Things To Know About This Shrawan 2023!

Shrawan 2023

Shravan is the fifth month of Hindu calendar. It is considered as one of the most auspicious times for Hindus. With pure intention and dedication people worship Lord Shiva and Ma Parvati. 

Shrawan 2023

During the time of Samundra Manthan Lord Shiva drank all the poison to rescue the world. That is why he is also known as Neelkantha. And then all the deities and demons offer Gangaajal and Milk to Lord Shiva and the ritual continues since then.

Shrawan 2023

But this year a rare coincidence took place as Shravan is of 59 days this time. This means there are a total 8 Mondays and this Mahurat came after 19 years. This rare phenomenon happens because of the addition of an extra lunar month which is also known as ‘ADHIK MASS’. 

Shrawan 2023

How To Worship 

  • Wake up at Brahma Muhurta that is two hours before sunrise. 
  • Take a bath and wear clean clothes. Try to avoid dark clothes. 

There are different stages of Worship 


To connect your inner being with Shiva, Practice Dhyana.


Do worship in Asana Mudra 


Offer water on the feet of Shiva. 


Offer water on Shiva Linga 


Offer Gangajal, honey, curd etc to Shiva. 


Offer a piece of cloth to Shiva. 


Offer Janeyu and Akshat to Shiva. 

Gandha and Pushpa 

Offer Chandan and flowers To Shiva. 

Dhoop and Deep

Offer Dhoop and Diya with sesame oil, Mustard or Ghee. 

Naivedhya and Tabulam

Offer Bhog and Fruits

Parikrama and Kshama Prarthana 

Do a half Parikrama of Shivalinga and Apologise to Shiva for your mistakes. 

Shrawan 2023

Stages of Fasting 

A beginner can have fruits and soup. 

If anyone wants to practise intense Sadhna then they can go on liquids or completely without water which is also called NIRJALA. The Significance of fasting is that a body on fasting generates spiritual awakening which connects you to Shiva. 

Significance Of OM NAMAH SHIVAY    

To pray Shiva and practice Sadhna the whole day, One should chant the Panchakshari Mantra OM NAMAH SHIVAY

NA             MA          SHI        VA          YA

Earth        Water       Fire        Air           Ether 

It refers to the Panch Maha Bhutas. With the complete Sadhana one will reach the higher state of Shiva consciousness this Shravana.