‘Jinx’ On Jharkhand CM’s Post Remains Unbroken In 2019 Too

jharkhand election result 2019

Unfortunate for BJP in continuing the 2nd turn of chief minister in Jharkhand assembly elections, but one learns from their own shortcomings. The results declared in the 2019 Jharkhand Assembly election on Monday again made it clear that the state Chief Minister`s post is still “unfortunate” with none of its holders managing to get a second consecutive term even as current Raghubar Das was trailing in his own stronghold because of which BJP was swept out of the power.

However, Das should be applauded for earning the distinction of becoming the first Chief Minister of the tribal-state, engraved out of Bihar in 2000, to complete a full term in power, but in 2019, anti-incumbency, rural distress, resentment over lack of jobs and even a divide within over the choice of poll candidates had to bear the loss.

Since its beginning, Jharkhand has seen 10 Chief Ministers and three terms of President`s rule-

  •  Bharatiya Janata Party, Babulal Marandi, became the first Chief Minister on November 15, 2000, but only was in power till March 18, 2003.
  • Then the party`s Arjun Munda, who succeeded him, was in power till March 2, 2005.
  • Then Jharkhand Mukti Morcha founder, Shibu Soren, after 2005 elections, occupied the Chief Minister`s chair from March 2 to March 12, 2005, before Munda returned to the post.
  • However, until September 19, 2006, he was in power.
  • Then independent MLA Madhu Koda became Chief Minister When his government fell, and Koda served till August 27, 2008.
  • Soren again came back as Chief Minister on August 27, 2008, but only served till January 19, 2009.
  • Then the President`s Rule was imposed.
  • Soren then again came back as Chief Minister on December 30, 2009, but was only in power till June 1, 2010.
  • President`s Rule was again imposed.
  • On September 11, 2010, Munda returned as Chief Minister but his third stint was only till January 18, 2013.
  • President`s rule was again imposed.
  • The current CM JMM`s candidate Hemant Soren, of grand JMM-Congress-RJD alliance, became the Chief Minister of Jharkhand on July 13, 2013, but had to resign office on December 28, 2014, after the defeat in the Assembly elections.
  • Das then became the first non-tribal Chief Minister of the tribal-state, which he successfully completed 5 years tenure.
  • In 2019, his, own electoral venture seemed destined.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-Congress-Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) alliance brushed off and had a comfortable majority as the BJP lost over 10 seats, Das was behind in Jamshedpur East seat which he held since 1995 – even while it was part of Bihar. However, the entire thing ended on Monday (December 23). Polling on votes for 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats, went in five phases from November 30 to December 20,

❖ Read More:

Stop All Ads Against NRC, CAA, Calcutta High Court Orders West Bengal Govt

Anti-CAA Protests: Congress to Hold Satyagraha at Rajghat Today

Protesting Students against CAA Detained from Outside UP Bhavan

Jaish-E-Mohammad Terror Group Sympathiser Arrested In Awantipora

Fire at Cloth Godown at Kirari in Delhi: 9 Dead & 12 Injured


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here