Leaders Paid Floral Tributes To Martyrs On 18th Anniversary Of Parliament Attack

latest news parliament attacklatest news parliament attack

Eighteen years back, in 2001 a few security personnel lost their lives while protecting Sansad Bhawan from the terrorist. They were so true and honest to their duty that for the protection of hundreds of leaders in the parliament winter session they had given up their lives. The whole nation is paying tribute to the Martyrs of this attack.

Floral tributes at the Parliament complex were paid by Chairman Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Sonia Gandhi to those who lost their lives in the 2001 Parliament attack.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, former prime minister Manmohan Singh, Leader of Opposition in the Upper House Ghulam Nabi Azad also paid floral tributes.

As a mark of respect, Chairman Venkaiah Naidu had also removed his cap before paying floral tributes to the departed souls.

On December 13, eighteen years ago terrorists of the Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and the Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) attacked the Parliament complex and opened fire, killing nine people.

The victims included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) trooper, one of them was Parliament’s watch and one ward staff and a gardener. A journalist who was also injured badly died later. Though, in this attack, all the five terrorists were shot dead. But even we lost our 9 patriotic personnel.

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs — Vinayak Raut (Shiv Sena), Pragya Singh Thakur (BJP), A K Anthony (Congress) — ministers Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Ramdas Athawale were among those present at the tribute corner.

In the beginning, President Ram Nath Kovind and Union ministers also paid their tributes to these brave people.

President Kovind tweeted that we remain firm in our resolve to defeat and eliminate terrorism in all its forms and manifestations.

Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad tweeted: Today let us remember the martyrs who sacrificed their lives defending and protecting the Parliament of India from the terrorist attack.”

Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri saluted those who lost their lives in the attack.

He tweeted: I join a grateful nation in paying tribute to the brave hearts who sacrificed their lives to valiantly defend our parliament against a dastardly terror attack on this day in 2001. New India will forever remain indebted to them for their selflessness, fortitude & courage.

In a message on Twitter, the Trinamool Congress paid tribute to the victims of the Parliament attack, saying, “Violence in any form is condemnable. Let us all strive for peace.”

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee tweeted: Today is the 18th anniversary of the attack on the Indian Parliament. Solemnly remembering those who lost their lives on that day. My sympathies with those who were injured in the line of duty. Terrorism and violence have no place in a civilized society.

“These Courageous Personnel Will Always Be Remembered Through Ages”

❖ Read More:

➥ If Mamata Banerjee Denies Citizenship to Refugees, Centre Will Acknowledge

➥ Happy Independence Day: SRK Shot a Video to Tribute Pulwama Martyrs

➥ Tihar seeks hangman from Meerut for Nirbhaya killers.

➥ Indefinite Curfew Posed In Guwahati after the Approval of Citizen Amendment Bill

➥ More Than 6,000 Trees to Be Cut For Jewar Airport, UP