FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017

Tsamina mina, eh eh

Waka waka, eh eh

Tsamina mina zangalewa

This time for India!!

Did it ring any bells? Yes, Its FIFA-U 17 world cup 2017!!

 “Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that!”

Football is considered as a war, minus the shooting! The most blinding thing in the match of football is to sight the ball!

Well jokes apart!

Total of Twenty-four teams qualified for the final tournament by qualifying the various under-17 tournaments!

The tournament will take place between 6th October – 28th October, 2017. The country was awarded the hosting rights on 5th December, 2013!

The qualified team are the ones listed below:

·        India, Iraq, Iran, Japan and North Korea- ASIA (AFC)

·        Ghana, Guinea, Mali, Niger- AFRICA (CAF)

·        Costa Rica, Honduras, United states, Mexico- Central, North America, Caribbean (CONCACAF)

·        Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Paraguay-  South America (CONMEBOL)

·        New Caledonia, New Zealand- Oceania (OFC)

·        England, France, Germany, Spain, Turkey- Europe (UEFA)

 It will begin with the group of four teams, playing in the round robin fashion, followed by the top four third placed teams, succeeding it! These sixteen teams will play till the third round and will proceed to the final knock out session! The three rounds will decide the winner team.

The six venues in India, on which these teams will be playing, underwent a major renovation, prior to the FIFA U-17 world cup 2017! All the six stadiums were given brand new training room, dressing room, bucket seats, and evacuation exits for fans.

The Official Emblem for the Tournament was launched on 27th September, 2016. The emblem is designed “as as a celebration of the country’s richness and diversity of cultures, with the main elements of the Indian Ocean, the banyan tree, the kite and the starburst, which is an interpretation of the Ashoka Chakra, an integral part of the national identity.”

The sale of the tickets initiated from 16th May, 2017, during a function in Delhi! General selling of the tickets commenced from 17th May, 2017 at 19:11.  The time was selected as a tribute to when Mohun Bagan defeated East Yorkshire Regiment in the IFA Shield in 1911, marking the first time an Indian football club defeated a British side in British India.

The six venues are in Kolkate, Koch in, New Delhi, Navi Mumbai, Guwahati, Margao.The FIFA U-17 World Cup was held on 7 July 2017 in Mumbai.

These 24 teams were made into a group of six (6), consisting of four teams each, with India allocated to position A1. The rest of the teams were allocated into their respective pots based on a ranking which was built according to past performances during the last five FIFA U-17 World Cup’s.

All set to go! Now Just keep your fingers crossed and wait for the tournament to start!