ICC World Cup: Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar Decides the Finalists Before the Opening Ceremony

sachin dhoni

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is all set to roll, starting from the 30th of May, and everyone has already started speculating the finalists. Sachin Tendulkar, known as the ‘God of Cricket’ by Indian cricket fans, is no behind in choosing his favorites and has come up with his list of finalist teams.

In an interview with the sports portal, ESPN Cricinfo, Sachin Tendulkar showed his faith in India, England, and Australia to reach the world cup semi-finale even before the inauguration of the tournament. Other cricket teams that Sachin considered worthy to take the fourth place in the semi-finale were New Zealand and Pakistan.

In another interview with a leading news portal, Hindustan Times, the Master Blaster expressed his trust in the potential of the Indian cricket team and said that the whole team is well-balanced and can take on others to make its mark in the game. He had a special mention of the legendary wicket-keeper and finisher Mahendra Singh Dhoni and said that he would be an asset in the Indian cricket team with his experience behind the wickets.

Sachin said that Dhoni would use his experience as a wicket-keeper and would observe the game behind the bails with the same views as the batsman on the strike. Additionally, Dhoni is also well known for playing at critical and pressurized situations to finish the game in style.

MS. Dhoni performed well in the recently concluded IPL and took his team to the finals. Other members of the Indian squad are also in good form and are all set to march forward and bring the cup home.

India will play its first match in the World Cup against the team of South Africa on the 5th of June but will compete against the teams of Bangladesh and England in two practice matches this week. While the opening match will be played between England and South Africa on 30th May.

Virat Kohli will lead the team with MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami in the top 16.